Nigeria super falcon secure another AWCON

Banyana’s fantasy of winning their first mainland title blurred immediately and inexplicably as Thomas Dennerby’s side again won by means of a punishment shootout

Tochukwu Oluehi was the champion as Nigeria guaranteed the African Women Cup of Nations for a record ninth time in the wake of vanquishing South Africa 4-3 on punishments following a firmly challenged 120-minute attract Accra, Ghana.

The Super Falcons goalkeeper was noteworthy all through the experience, before sparing the definitive punishment to enable her team to beat Banyana.

Onome Ebi had missed Nigeria’s first punishment of the shootout before Oluehi gave a staggering recovery to deny Linda Motlhalo, accordingly, anchoring triumph for Nigeria.

Thomas Dennerby rolled out a solitary improvement to his team, expediting adolescent Rasheedat Ajibade instead of Desire Oparanozie while Thembi Kgatlana kept on driving the line for Desiree Ellis’ side.

Nigeria controlled procedures for most of the amusement while the South Africans were sorted out and, in that capacity, effectively contained their adversaries all through.

Ellis’ methodology saw her side attempt to abuse the guarded association of Ebi and Osinachi Ohale with the speed of Kgatlana.

The Super Falcons began on the front foot and in the third moment, Oshoala, in the wake of picking the pocket of a South African midfielder, shot gently at Kaylin Swart, who gave an unassured spare.

Her contrary number, Oluehi, was first called to activity in the thirteenth moment, repelling a plunging long-extend free-kick from Mamello Makhabane.

Okobi then indicated extraordinary aptitude to pull far from Leandra Smeda, yet the nature of her complete was in unmistakable particular.

The assaulting midfielder had a superior endeavor at Banyana’s objective after some great work from armada footed winger Francesca Ordega, yet Swart was equivalent to the errand.

Be that as it may, for an awful first touch, Ajibade would have put the Super Falcons ahead before the half-time sever after Swart’s leeway an Okobi outswinging endeavor succumbed to her.

Three minutes after the restart, livewire Ordega – profiting off Ajibade’s agreeable shot – again caused frenzy for the South African barrier however her strike was hairs from the objective.

Nigeria cushioned their most obvious opportunity to get a much-merited lead with Oshoala terminating her punishment wide after Swart had cut down Ordega in the crate as the amusement continued into additional time.

Oluehi easily took care of substitute Nompumelelo Nyandeni’s left-footed shot in the primary genuine opening of additional time.

Also, Swart again denied Oshoala an objective, driving the ball to wellbeing before Kgatlana nearly anchored the trophy for South Africa in the wake of waltzing through Nigeria’s barrier however shot directly at Oluehi.

The goalkeeper demonstrated her quality smoothly sparing wild endeavors from Motlhalo and Makhabane to keep the Super Falcons in the diversion as Banyana’s look for a first Awcon title just needed to stretch to the punishment shootouts.

Oluehi just needed to hold up until the last spot-kick, giving a shocking jumping recovery to Motlhalo’s shot to win a record ninth mainland trophy for Nigeria.

Written by Tonbra


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eden Hazard : The one club i will not join when I live chelsea

Ronaldo proves that he is better than messi